Cross Country


The Catalyst / Desea Bond

The seniors are showered with love and gifts as they say goodbye to their last cross country season.

NDB’s cross country team had their final WBAL meet at the Crystal Springs course on Friday, November 5. NDB’s varsity team unfortunately didn’t qualify for the CCS Championships. However, the varsity team did have three individual qualifiers: Elle Rau, Megan Worry, and Annette Henderson.
The three runners competed at CCS on Saturday November 13. Luckily, the meet was held at Crystal Springs, a course they were well-accustomed to running on after having two meets there already this season. Despite high temperatures, the runners all performed well and powered through the many hills.
“It is a great way to end the season, especially as a senior,” shared Rau. “Going to CCS is like one last chance to do your very best on the course and run a good race. I am not worried about racing, but rather about having regrets about my races.”
At the end of the last league meet, each team got the chance to honor and celebrate their seniors. NDB’s five seniors Elle Rau, Kayla George, Clair Sapilewski, Emma Nilstoft and Peyton Daley were all given flowers, candy and posters. The team came together the week before to make this day special for the seniors, creating hand-made posters and gift packs for each senior.
“Having this be my last year of cross country has been bittersweet. I am sad to see it go but excited for the time to try new things,” said Nilstoft. “Our team is so incredible and I am going to miss practicing with them daily. It was definitely a hard race to run since I knew it was going to be my last, but having an amazing, supportive team made it so much fun.”
Overall, the team had a great season and finished off strong. Most people made a personal record at the final meet and everyone gave their all. Each runner improved over the course of the season.
The team had an end-of-season dinner on Wednesday, November 17 to celebrate their work throughout the fall and hand out awards to team members. Junior Desea Bond received Most Improved, senior Kayla George got the Coaches’ Award, senior Ellie Rau was deemed Most Inspirational, and sophomore Megan Worry was given MVP.